Bye!!! Bye!!! Defeated Lawmakers, Saraki, Akpabio, Others, Pocket Billions As Farewell Allowances


Emerging report indicates that Senate President, Bukola Saraki, and 216 other Lawmakers, not re-elected in the recent National Assembly elections, are to receive severance allowances amounting to N1.3 billion.

Other prominent Lawmakers that will be entitled to the severance packages, are a former Senate President, David Mark; a former Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio; and an Entertainment Entrepreneur, Senator Ben Murray Bruce, as well as Senator Binta Garuba.

Others include, Rabiu Kwankwaso, George Akume, Ahmed Yerima, Abiodun Olujimi, as well Shehu Sani, Andy Ubah, and Mao Ohuabunwa.

A former Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Barnabas Gemade, and the 2019 All Progressives Congress, APC, Governorship Candidate in Ebonyi State, Sonny Ogbuorji, are also on the list.

According to a document, Remuneration Package for Political, Public and Judicial Office Holders 2008, a non-returning Senator is entitled to a severance allowance of N6,079,200. The severance allowance of a Senate President is N7,452,727.50.

On the other hand, a non-returning member of the House of Representatives is entitled to N5,955,637.5.

There are 66 Senators and 151 House of Representatives members, who will not be making it back to the Red and Green Chambers, respectively, in the 9th National Assembly, expected to be inaugurated on June 6.

This means that the 66 non-returning Senators will be paid a total of N401,227,200, as a farewell package.

Similarly, the 151 Reps. will be paid a total of N899,301,262.5, to bid farewell to the National Assembly, where they had worked, at least, in the last four years.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here