THIS MEANS WAR! APC To Adopt ‘Osun Strategy’ In All Six States Involved In Supplementary Elections


The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has recently said it was currently mobilising its members and Nigerians to vote for candidates of the party in the March 23 supplementary polls in six states where governorship elections were declared inconclusive after the March 9 elections.

The affected states are Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Kano, Plateau, and Sokoto while the election in Rivers was suspended indefinitely by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In order to achieve victory, the party may enter into alliance talks with some political parties that participated in elections in the affected states.

Speaking with Journalist, Lanre Issa-Onilu, the APC’s National Publicity Secretary, said the party would leave no stone unturned in its efforts to secure victory in the affected state.

He said: “We are getting ready to ensure that we mobilise our members and Nigerians to come out and vote for APC.”

When asked if the APC would adopt the strategy it used during the supplementary election in Osun last year, Issa-Onilu replied in the affirmative, saying the APC would do everything legal to ensure it won in the six states.

“Yes, that is what I am saying. We will put in all that is legal to ensure that we will achieve victory,” he said.

It would be recalled that the leadership of the APC as well as governors and ministers elected on its platform had mobilised to Osun State for the supplementary election held on September 27, 2018.

It also entered into alliance with Senator Iyiola Omisore, candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

This was a key factor which led to its eventual victory in the runoff election conducted in one polling unit in Oyere in Ife-North, one polling unit in Olode in Ife-South.

Another polling unit in Osi, Ife-South, three polling units in Orolu, Kajola Local Government Area of the state and one polling unit in Osogbo.

Ademola Adeleke, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had won the main election held on September 22 with 353 votes after polling 254,698 against Gboyega Oyetola of APC who had 254,345 votes. APC eventually won the election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here